About Us

Our Location
Blue Springs City Theatre productions are held in the Blue Springs High School Auditorium (formerly known as the Blue Springs Civic Center), which is on the campus of Blue Springs High School. The address is 2000 NW Ashton Dr., Blue Springs, MO 64015.
Our History
In 1986, Jim Stamberger approached Pam Buck of the Blue Springs Parks and Recreation Department with the idea of beginning a theatre company for the community of Blue Springs. From those meetings came “Blue Springs Community Theater,” as it was known for the first three years. The first production was the musical “Scrooge”. More than 100 persons auditioned on October 1st and 2nd, 1986 and a cast of approximately 40 persons performed the show. The first show was performed with recorded music.
In the summer of 1987, Jim Stamberger directed “The King and I” and the music was provided by a live orchestra. Since that time, the name of the theater has changed to “Blue Springs City Theatre”. The number of yearly productions has varied from 2 to 4, but the quality of the shows and the caliber of talent involved has only gotten better. In the years since the first scrooge, over 40 productions have been presented to the community ranging from children’s’ theater – “Tom Sawyer”, “Winnie the Pooh”, “Peter Pan”, small shows like “Curious Savage”, “Miracle Worker”, “Barefoot in the Park”, to the large summer musicals such as – “Oklahoma”, “South Pacific” and “The Wizard of Oz”. Blue Springs has also presented Shakespeare – “Taming of the Shrew” and debuted an original musical by Donna Browne, “A Little Princess”.
Over 1900 people from the community have worked both onstage and backstage to bring live theatre to Blue Springs. Most of these individuals have been involved in multiple productions.
Blue Springs City Theatre has always had an open door policy and welcomes any and all who would wish to contribute their time and talents to the theatre.
Board of Directors
View our current Board of Directors here!
Past Presidents
2018 – Present    Jennifer Parker
2017-2018     Michelle Brown
2016-2017     Leslie Schick
2009-2016     Michelle Brown
2007-2009     Barry Tomlin
2007                Trent Ainsworth
2005-2006     Greg Lane
2003-2004     Dwenah Tomlin
2001-2002     Kathy Argotsinger
1999-2000     Janon Cairns
1997-1998     Janice Welch
1995-1996     Ardyce Nordeen
1993-1994     Patricia McLaughlin
1992                John D’Agostino
1991                 Pam Gieseke
1990                Jeff Carter

Join us on Facebook!


  • No categories